Club Trail Championship

The 2018 Club Trail Championship consists of five races, with a member’s best three races counting. Three races are part of the Pendle and Burnley Grand Prix series. The first four races are:

Sunday 8th April 10 am – Rivington 10 miles
*Wednesday 20th June 7 pm – Sabden Trail 6 miles
*Sunday 1st July 11 am – Trawden 7 miles
*Sunday 5th August – Worsthorne Moor 7 miles

* indicates race that counts for the V65 and older category awards. The final race will be announced when the Autumn Road Relay and 2018-19 Cross Country fixture dates are known.

Wholan Nook Trail Race

Danny Collinge leading the way at the 2015 Wholan Nook Trail Race. Photo by Nick Olszewski

There are separate competitions for Ladies and Men. Points are awarded in each race as follows:

1st Clayton Lady 50 points; 2nd Clayton Lady 49 points; etc
1st Clayton Man 50 points; 2nd Clayton Man 49 points; etc

The points from a member’s best three races are added together to determine the final rankings for Ladies and Men. To be given a final ranking it is necessary to have completed at least three races. The Men’s Champion holds the Owl Trophy, and the Ladies’ Champion holds the Fox Trophy. Awards for 2nd and 3rd positions are also made to Ladies and Men.

Veteran (10 year categories), U20 and U23 awards are also available; the number of awards made depends on the number of members completing the competition in each age category. For the LV65, MV70 and older categories awards are based on the best two out of the three races indicated by * above.

Here are the details of the Club Trail Championship in 2017 and 2016. Congratulations to 2017 Ladies’ Champion Donna Airey and 2017 Men’s Champion Chris Snell.