Club Fell Championship

The 2020 Club Fell Championship

An open competition to find the best male and female fell runner in the club.

There is a change of format this year as follows:

Best FOUR results from TWELVE races to count, to include a minimum of one at each distance (S, M, L + one at any). For the Vet 70 category – ANY THREE races to count.

Michelle Abbott and Chris Lawreence at Bleasdale 2019

Michelle Abbott and Chris Lawrence at Bleasdale 2019

There are separate competitions for Ladies and Men. Points are awarded in each race as follows:

1st Clayton Lady 50 points; 2nd Clayton Lady 49 points; etc
1st Clayton Man 50 points; 2nd Clayton Man 49 points; etc

Bonus points are available as follows: Overall race win (i.e. first place M or F) +5pts.  Overall race top ten (M/F) +3pts.

The points from a member’s best qualifying races are added together to determine the final rankings for Ladies and Men.  The Ladies’ Champion holds the Lady Fell Champion Cup, and the Men’s Champion holds the Male Fell Champion Cup. Awards for 2nd and 3rd positions are also made to Ladies and Men.

Veteran (10 year categories commencing at age 40 for ladies and men), U20 and U23 awards are also available; the number of awards made depends on the number of members completing the competition in each age category. Age category is determined by age as at the date of the first race. Awards in a particular age category are only made to members in that age category; members in other age categories are not eligible.

The 2020 qualifying races are:


Location Other Notes
Mar-01 Ilkley Dales/Peaks AS, 50
Apr-04 Pendle Other AS, 50
May-12 Mearley Clough Local AS
Aug-29 Arnisson Crag Lakes AS, English Champs
Jun-06 Pen Y Ghent Dales/Peaks AM
Jul-04 Blencathra Lakes AM, English Champs
Aug-12 Pilgrims Cross Local BM
Sep-27 Waddington Fell Local BM, A new fell race.
Mar-22 Edale Sky Line Dales/Peaks AL,50
May-24 Helvellyn & Dodds Lakes AL
Sep-19 Three Shires Lakes AL, Lakes Classics/Lakes GP
Nov-21 Tour of Pendle Local AL, 50


English Champs, FRA 50 at 50 races and Lakes Grand Prix races, it is recommended that if available you pre enter at the earliest opportunity to avoid disappointment.

Good luck and see you on the fell!

Here are the details of the Club Fell Championships in 20192018201720162015 and 2014. Congratulations to 2019 Ladies’ Champion Michelle Abbott and Men’s Champion Matthew Duckworth.