Cross Country Palladium

In the 2016-17 Cross Country Palladium Competition members receive points for competing in the race that includes the Senior Ladies’ race, or the race that includes the Senior Men’s race at the following ten cross country fixtures: all six Mid Lancs League XC fixtures; the Red Rose XC League fixtures at Leigh, Bolton and Rossendale; and the Lancashire XC Championships.

Here are the final standings for Ladies and Men. Congratulations to Ladies’ Champion Michelle Abbott and Men’s Champion Matt Duckworth.

Mick Hughes and Andy Quinn at Mid Lancs Leigh 2017

Mick Hughes and Andy Quinn at Mid Lancs Leigh 2017. Photo Donna Airey

There are separate competitions for Ladies and Men. Points are awarded in each race as follows:

1st Clayton member 30 points; 2nd Clayton member 29 points; and so on with one point being awarded to the 30th and subsequent finishers.

Each member’s points from all races are added together to determine the final rankings. To be eligible for any award a member must complete at least five races.

The Ladies’ Champion holds the Eric Doorbar Cup, and the Men’s Champion holds the Palladium Cup. Awards for 2nd and 3rd positions are also made to Ladies and Men. Veteran (10 year categories), U20 and U23 awards are available; the number of awards made depends on the number of members completing the competition in each age category.

Here are the final standings in the 2015-16 Cross Country Palladium for Ladies and Men. Congratulations to Ladies’ Champion Helena Leathley and Men’s Champion Carl Helliwell. Please note that the rules for the 2015-16 competition were different from the rules above.