Club Cross Country Championship

The 2016-17 Club Cross Country Championship consists of three races, with a member’s best two races counting. The races are all Mid-Lancs league fixtures:

Saturday 26th November – Sefton Park, Liverpool
Saturday 14th January – Towneley Park, Burnley
Saturday 4th March – Sports Village, Leigh

Here are final standings for Ladies and Men. Congratulations to Ladies’ Champion Liz Mullan and Men’s Champion Christopher Holdsworth.

Clayton Men in action at the Hyndburn Mid Lancs Cross Country. Photo by David Belshaw

Clayton Men in action at the Hyndburn Mid Lancs Cross Country in January 2016. Photo by David Belshaw

There are separate competitions for Ladies and Men. Points are awarded in each race as follows:

1st Clayton Lady 50 points; 2nd Clayton Lady 49 points; etc
1st Clayton Man 50 points; 2nd Clayton Man 49 points; etc

Except for the V65 Ladies’ and V70 Men’s categories, to be given a final ranking it is necessary to have completed at least two races. The points from a member’s best two races are added together to determine the final rankings for Ladies and Men.

The Ladies’ Champion holds the Ladies’ Cross Country Champion Cup, and the Men’s Champion holds the Metcalfe Trophy. Awards for 2nd and 3rd positions are also made to Ladies and Men. Veteran (10 year categories), U20 and U23 awards are also available; the number of awards made depends on the number of members completing the competition in each age category.

Congratulations to 2015-16 Ladies’ Champion Helena Leathley and Men’s Champion Christopher Holdsworth. Here are the final standings for Ladies and Men.